• Yoli's Brief
  • Posts
  • Read this if you're not sure if you're ready

Read this if you're not sure if you're ready

Grow to be ready or be ready to grow?

Things happen to you because you’re ready to take them—a job loss, career shift, location change, or family crisis. Every bad (and good) experience shows up at the right moment in your life: when you have the right amount of physical, mental, and emotional tools to handle it. But only if you believe in it first. Or you did not understand the game of life.

It took me nearly 5 years to move to Barcelona, and there was a time I regretted I didn't come sooner. Younger. Besides the financial barriers that I needed to overcome, there was also some maturity to level up. I was super frustrated because I was adding a lot of expectations about when it was the right time to go. Every minute seemed like suffering because that’s how I framed it inside my head.

"What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the master calls a butterfly." - Richard Bach

But to be fair, I would not be living this experience that I’m living today. In those 5 years, I got more experience with living outside of my parent's home, got more autonomy and tested how I wanted to deal with my freedom. When I finally arrived, a lot of things were already sorted out in my head (or at least not triggering anxiety) because I had lived a previous experience. I was adding tools to my toolbox.

Your personal state and the external world are linked. Your development can be influenced when you find certain opportunities or challenges. Life will present us with chances and changes at the right moment, neither too early nor too late.

When I decided I didn't want to have a design studio, I needed to shred societal (and self-imposing) expectations by following what I really wanted to do. But to get there, I tested, tested, tested, and tested again. The testing gave me not only experience but also answers to where I did not want to be and some hints on where I wanted to go. I wanted to live in a more authentic reality, so I needed to expand in getting new knowledge, skills and experiences.

When you take on this mindset, you’re focusing on being:

  1. More resilient and adaptable

  2. At peace with time

  3. A lifelong learner

Our experiences are not random (we are constantly choosing consciously or not) and are intricately connected to our development and readiness.

"When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it." - Paulo Coelho

Things, achievements, movements, and changes will be ready when you’re ready. If you keep developing yourself, life will continually develop.

Enjoy your weekend,

Yoli

Extra Notes:

→ ENDLESS-ID Class 10 is out: “Impostor Syndrome: 101” (members only) 🐣 

ENDLESS-ID Season 2 Subscription closes soon. This is your opportunity to keep developing your creative self, prepare for new challenges, and experience meaningful career experiences.

This season, we’re opening up 3 categories so you can pick the one that makes sense to your current scenario:
1. Endless Hub: If you want to learn in your own pace.
2. Growth Group: If you want closer connections and direct guidance.
3. Private Mentorship: If you’re truly committed to making the right changes and choices in your creative career.

If you need extra help defining it, take this quiz.
We’ll close the doors on May 10th and will only open again in August.